AsiaBSDCon 2017

March 9-12, 2017, Tokyo University of Science, Tokyo, Japan

Registration
  • Delegate (non-student): 18,000JPY
  • Student: 5,000JPY
  • Banquet ticket on 11th: Delegate 9,000JPY, Student: 3,000JPY.

This registration fee includes name card, printed proceedings, T-shirt, and tickets of lunch during the last two days. Banquet on 11th needs banquet ticket (not included in the registration). Note that you need to register even if you are planning to attend one of the tutorial sessions or meetings in the first two days and not to attend the last two days.

The online registration page covers registration for tutorials and meetings in the first two days and hotel room booking. Register yourself now!

Conference Timetable

NOTE: this page will be updated when more detailed information is available.

Day 1 (March 9, 2017) - Tutorials and Small Meetings I

Please note that Day 1 is for tutorials and meetings only. Separate registration is required. No exhibition and no paper session for unregistered attendees.
Room ARoom BRoom CRoom D
09:30-12:30 T1: DTrace for Developers: no more printfs
George Neville-Neil
-- M1: FreeBSD Developer Summit (invited only) --
13:30-16:30 T4: Getting Started with the FreeBSD Documentation and Translation System
Warren Block
--
18:30-22:00 -- -- -- M2: bhyvecon

Day 2 (March 10, 2017) - Tutorials and Small Meetings II

Please note that Day 2 is for tutorials and meetings only. Separate registration is required. No exhibition and no paper session for unregistered attendees.
Room ARoom BRoom CRoom D
09:30-12:30 T2: Secure BSD Web Applications in C: Practical Strategies
Kristaps Dzonsons
M3: NetBSD AsiaBSDCon 2017 NetBSD Summit (10:00-16:30) (invited only) M1: FreeBSD Developer Summit (invited only) --
13:30-16:30 T3: Managing BSD systems with Ansible
Benedict Reuschling
--
18:30-22:00 -- -- -- M4: NetBSD BoF (19:00-21:30)

Day 3 (March 11, 2017) - Paper Session I

Room ARoom BRoom C
09:50 - 10:00 Openning
10:00 - 10:45 P01A: Understandings NFSv4 ACL's
John  Hixson (john@ixsystems.com)
P01B: Bulk building in the many core era
Joerg  Sonnenberger (joerg@bec.de)
P01C: OpenBSD - pf+rdomains create splendid multi-tenancy firewalls
Philipp  Buehler (pbuehler@sysfive.com)
11:00 - 11:45 P02A: FreeBSD System Administration Using SysAdm
Dru  Lavigne (dru.lavigne@att.net)
P02B: Addition of Ext4 Extent and Ext3 HTree DIR Read-Only Support in NetBSD
Hrishikesh   (mhrishikesh@student.nitw.ac.in)
P02C: Bidirectional Forwarding Detection (BFD) implementation and support in OpenBSD
Peter  Hessler (phessler@openbsd.org)
12:00 - 13:30 Lunch
13:30 - 14:45 Project Updates Session
14:45 - 15:00 Break
15:00 - 15:45 P03A: PC-BSD evolves into TrueOS
Kris  Moore (kris@ixsystems.com)
P03B: Hardening pkgsrc
Pierre  Pronchery (pierre@defora.net)
P03C: tcp synfloods - an old yet current problem, and improving pf to deal better with it
Henning  Brauer (henning@openbsd.org)
16:00 - 16:45 P04A: Case studies of sandboxing base system with Capsicum
Mariusz  Zaborski (oshogbo@freebsd.org)
P04B: The History and Future of Core Dumps in FreeBSD
Sam  Gwydir (sam@samgwydir.com)
P04C: Everything you ever wanted to know about "hello, world"* (*but were afraid to ask.)
Brooks  Davis (brooks.davis@sri.com)
17:00 - 17:45 P05A: Continuous Integration of The FreeBSD Project
Li-Wen  Hsu (lwhsu@freebsd.org)
P05B: Towards a HVM-like Hardware Domain for Xen
Roger  Pau Monne (royger@FreeBSD.org)
P05C: 10 Years with DragonFlyBSD network stack
Yanmin  Qiao (sepherosa@gmail.com)
18:30 - 21:00 Banquet (in Arcadia Ichigaya)

Day 4 (March 12, 2017) - Paper Session II

Room ARoom BRoom C
09:00 - 09:45 P06A: Improving FreeBSD on Hyper-V/Azure
Yanmin  Qiao (sepherosa@gmail.com)
P06B: Maintain the NetBSD Base System Using pkg_* Tools
Yuuki  Enomoto (m2160020@photon.chitose.ac.jp)
P06C: SSH Performance
Allan  Jude (allanjude@freebsd.org)
10:00 - 10:45 P07A: FreeBSD-powered LCD Advertising Displays in Some Waiting Rooms along High-speed Railway of China
Xiao  Li (intron@intron.ac)
P07B: Applying Machine Learning to Improve apropos(1)
Abhinav  Upadhyay (abhinav@NetBSD.org)
P07C: FreeBSD ARM: Before Kernel
Emmanuel  Vadot (manu@bidouilliste.com)
11:00 - 11:45 P08A: Challenges of TLS encryption at 100Gb line rate in the FreeBSD kernel
Scott  Long (scottl@netflix.com)
P08B: Portable hotplugging: NetBSD's uvm hotplug(9) API development
Santhosh Narayanan Raju (santhosh.raju@gmail.com)
P08C: Writing a FreeBSD IR driver for small ARM boards using evdev interface
Ganbold  Tsagaankhuu (ganbold@gmail.com)
12:00 - 13:30 Lunch
13:30 - 15:00 Keynote K01: Software Stacks to enable Software-Defined Networking and Network Functions Virtualization
Yoshihiro  NAKAJIMA (nakajima.yoshihiro@lab.ntt.co.jp)
15:00 - 15:15 Break
15:15 - 16:00 P09A: State of LibreSSL and OpenSSL in FreeBSD
Bernard  Spil (brnrd@FreeBSD.org)
P09B: Reproducible Builds in FreeBSD
Ed  Maste (emaste@freebsd.org)
P09C: GENERIC ARM -- Creating a single kernel configuration for FreeBSD/armv6
Andrew  Turner (andrew@fubar.geek.nz)
16:15 - 17:00 P10A: Comprehensive and biaised comparison of OpenBSD and FreeBSD
Baptiste  Daroussin (bapt@FreeBSD.org)
P10B: Holding onto things in a multiprocessor world
Taylor R Campbell (riastradh@NetBSD.org)
P10C: bhyve ARM - Current State Analysis and An Overview of the Porting Process to Hardware Platforms
Mihai  Carabas (mihai.carabas@cs.pub.ro)
17:00 - 18:30 Work-in-Progress Session
18:30 - 18:30 Closing

Copyright (c) 2015-16 BSD Research